If you were arrested for a Wyoming DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about Wyoming DUI.
Throughout the country, the acronyms for drunk driving are typically DUI and DWI. Wyoming uses the acronym DUI or DWUI, Driving While Under the Influence. DUI, DWI, and DWUI all mean the same thing. Simply, if you’re operating any apparatus or piece of equipment that propels you or assists in traveling – while under the influence – you can be charged with a Wyoming DUI.
Wyoming DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: WYOMING LAW STATES THAT YOU HAVE 10 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH WYOMING DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION. After 45 days, your license will be automatically suspended if you do not contest the DOT suspension. It is crucial that your attorney schedules this hearing to avoid further problems with your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of a first-time Wyoming DUI, you can expect to pay fines up to $1000 and spend up to 7 days in jail. The court can also levy additional penalties, including the mandatory attendance of AA meetings. The DOT will seek to suspend your license for up to 3 months and you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle, of which you’ll have to pay for the installation and the monthly maintenance.
Wyoming DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Wyoming DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Wyoming. A competent DUI attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys can offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the case with Wyoming DOT, regarding your license suspension.
General Wyoming DUI Information
– Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Wyoming DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Wyoming DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.
– Actual Physical Control – You can get a Wyoming DUI even if you’re not driving a vehicle! If you are in what’s called actual physical control of the vehicle, i.e. sitting in the front seat, keys in the ignition, parked but engine running; and law enforcement determines that you’re under the influence, you can be arrested and charged with a DUI. The theory behind actual physical control is not that you were driving, but that you could have driven. Speak to an experienced Wyoming DUI attorney that can give you a more detailed explanation of actual physical control and what it means for your case.