If you were arrested for a Virginia DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Virginia.
Virginia DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR INITIAL BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE 10 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR APPEAL HEARING WITH THE VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES (DDS). CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED VIRGINIA DUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND HELP SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time Virginia DUI, you can expect to pay a maximum of $2500 in fines, and stand to lose your license for up to a year! If your Blood Alcohol Content is found to be over 0.15%, can may have to spend up to 5 days in jail. As of 2012, a Virginia DUI law was enacted requiring all persons convicted of DUI – whether it’s your 1st or 3rd – to install an Ignition Interlock Device on all of the vehicles they drive.
If this is your 2nd DUI in Virginia within 5 years, expect to spend anywhere between 20 and 4o days in jail, pay no less than a $500 fine, and potentially have your driver’s license revoked for up to 3 years! Clearly, Virginia DUI law ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a Virginia DUI attorney immediately to help you avoid the enhanced penalties for multiple offenders.
Virginia DUI Lawyers
An arrest for DUI in Virginia does not necessarily equal a Virginia DUI conviction. DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Virginia. A good DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the hearing with Virginia DDS.
General Virginia DUI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Virginia DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is in more detail and what it can potentially cost you.