If you were arrested for a Vermont DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant. “Operating” means the immediate, actual physical control over a motor vehicle that is in motion and/or has its engine running. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Vermont.
Vermont DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU MUST RESPOND BY THE DATE ON YOUR ‘INTENT TO SUSPEND’ FORM AND REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED VERMONT DUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in Vermont, you could spend up to 2 years in jail! Additionally, you can expect to be fined up to $1000 in fees and court surcharges. Additional penalties can include the attendance of alcohol education courses, being forbidden from ingesting alcohol, and the installation of an ignition interlock device, of which you will be responsible for the installation and monthly maintenance fees.
Vermont has a “look-back” period of 1o years. A look-back period means that if you get a 2nd Vermont DUI within 10 years of your first DUI, you’ll be subjected to increased penalties. These penalties can include up to 2 years in jail, fines up to $2000, and having your driver’s license suspended for up to 18 months. The penalties for DUI in Vermont for repeat offenders is substantially more punitive in an effort to curtail the DUI problem. Consult with an experience Vermont DUI attorney to ensure your best chances of not being convicted of a 2nd DUI.
Vermont DUI Lawyers
An arrest for DUI in Vermont does not necessarily equal a conviction. Vermont DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Vermont. A good DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the administrative hearing with Vermont DMV, regarding your license suspension.
General Vermont DUI Information
Vermont DUI Insurance
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Vermont DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Vermont DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.