If you were arrested for a Utah DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about Utah DUI.
Utah DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: UTAH DUI LAWS STATE THAT YOU HAVE 10 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH DRIVER’S LICENSE DIVISION (DLD). After 45 days, your license will be automatically suspended if you do not contest the DMV suspension. It is crucial that your attorney schedules this hearing to avoid further problems with your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of a first-time Utah DUI, you can expect to pay minimum fines starting up to $700 and additional surcharges. and be subject to various other penalties as the the court may see fit, including a minimum 2 days in jail, the mandatory attendance of AA meetings, probation, or the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device. The DLD will also seek to suspend your license for up to 1 year!
If you do not prevail at the DLD, the consequences can be steep. In order to get your license back after the suspension period, you will need to show completion of the Alcohol Education Courses and pay any fines associated with the suspension. Speak with an experienced Utah attorney immediately to help save your driving privilege and keep you out of jail.
Utah DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Utah DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Utah. A competent DUI attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys can offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the case with Utah DLD, regarding your license suspension.
General Utah DUI Information
– Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Utah DUI, you will have to get what is called SR-22 insurance. Your Utah DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.
Why You Shouldn’t Go With A Public Defender
– Do not get a Public Defender for your Utah DUI. Studies by the ACLU (American Civil Liberties Union) have revealed that their representation is “constitutionally inadequate.” Additionally, if you’re convicted you will wind up having to pay their legal fees in addition to any other fines and fees. Don’t pay for an over-worked, inexperienced public defender when you could be paying close to the same amount in fees for an experienced and competent Utah DUI attorney.