If you were arrested for a Texas DWI, driving while intoxicated, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated from alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving while intoxicated. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DWI in Texas.
Texas DWI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE ONLY 15 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED TEXAS DWI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time Texas DWI, you can expect to pay a maximum of $2000 in fines, and spend up to 180 days in jail! Additional penalties can include the loss of your driver’s license, attendance of a alcohol education course. If your Blood Alcohol Content is found to be .15% or higher, you will be required install an ignition interlock device. You will be responsible for the initial set-up and monthly maintenance costs.
Texas DWI law is very strict when it comes to child endangerment. If you are transporting a child younger than 15 years old at the time you are DWI, you can be charged with child endangerment. The penalties for this are remarkably steep. The penalties – on top of your DWI penalties – can include a $10,000 fine and up to 2 years in jail. If you’ve been arrested with a child in your vehicle during your DWI stop, it is imperative you speak to an experienced DWI attorney immediately.
Texas DWI Lawyers
An arrest for DWI in Texas does not necessarily equal a Texas DWI conviction. DWI attorneys defend DWI offenses and drunk driving cases in Texas. A good Texas DWI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. Texas DWI attorneys will be able to offer you DWI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DWI charges and the administrative hearing with Texas DOT.
General Texas DWI Information
Texas DWI Insurance
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a DWI in Texas, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DWI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.