If you were arrested for a Tennessee DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Tennessee.
Tennessee DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE ONLY 10 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED TENNESSEE DUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in Tennessee, you can expect to pay a maximum of $1500 in fines, and spend a mandatory minimum of 2 days in jail! Additional penalties can include the attendance of a alcohol education course and the installation of an ignition interlock device. A Tennessee DUI can also be characterized as “aggravated” if your BAC is .20% or higher, you were driving 30 m.p.h. or more over the speed limit, or having a passenger under 21 years of age. A mandatory 7 days and higher fines will be imposed with those circumstances attached.
If this is your 2nd DUI in Tennessee within 10 years, you’re looking at a minimum of 45 days in jail, a $3500 fine, and potentially having your driver’s license revoked for up to 2 years! On top of that, you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on all the vehicles that you regularly drive. Clearly, Tennessee DUI law ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a DUI attorney immediately to help you avoid enhanced penalties.
Tennessee DUI Lawyers
An arrest for Tennessee DUI does not necessarily equal a Tennessee DUI conviction. Tennessee DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Tennessee. A good DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. Tennessee DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the administrative hearing with Tennessee DMV.
General Tennessee DUI Information
Do Not Fall Asleep In Your Car If You’ve Been Drinking!
You can be charged with a DUI in Tennessee for driving, operating, or being in physical control of a vehicle. The argument can be made against you that you were in physical control of the vehicle and that you could have driven even if you were found sleeping intoxicated in the back seat of the car.
Tennessee DUI Insurance
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a DUI in Tennessee, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.