If you were arrested for a Oregon DUII, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant. DUII is synonymous with other states’ “drunk driving” acronyms of DUI, DWI, OVI, etc. “Operating” means the immediate, actual physical control over a motor vehicle that is in motion and/or has its engine running. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUII in Oregon.
Oregon DUII Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE ONLY 10 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE OREGON DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED OREGON DUII ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time Oregon DUII, you COULD BE FINED $5,000.00! Additionally, you can expect to spend either 2 days in jail or up to 80 hours of doing community service. Additional penalties can include the attendance of alcohol education courses, being forbidden from ingesting alcohol, the installation of a ignition interlock device, and having to repay your court-appointed attorney’s fees. Yes, you are on the hook for the attorney that you may have thought was free. Consult an experienced attorney before settling on a less-committed one that you’re going to have to wind up paying for anyways.
Oregon DUII Lawyers
An arrest for Oregon DUII does not necessarily equal an Oregon DUII conviction. DUII attorneys defend DUII offenses and drunk driving cases in Oregon. A good DUII attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUII attorneys in Oregon will be able to offer you DUII defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUII charges and the administrative hearing with Oregon DMV, regarding your license suspension.
General Oregon DUII Information
Oregon DUII Diversion Program
Oregon offers a DUII diversion program for specific defendants. It takes a year to complete the diversion. It is far cheaper than the DUII fines, but it’ll still run you close to a $1000. The added benefit to the program is upon successful completion you won’t have a conviction on your record. The requirements for your approval into the program are extensive. Have your Oregon DUII attorney go over all the requirements and expectations for you.
No Plea Bargaining Your Oregon DUII
While most states will entertain the idea of accepting a lesser plea, Oregon state law forbids this. This is yet another reason to seek the competent and experienced counsel of an attorney specializing in DUI in Oregon.
Oregon DUII Insurance
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a DUII in Oregon, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DUII attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.