If you were arrested for a New Jersey DWI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely was diminished. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have compiled the most important information for you to inform yourself about DWI in New Jersey.
New Jersey DWI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR INITIAL BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE 10 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR APPEAL HEARING WITH THE NEW JERSEY MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY DWI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND HELP SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time New Jersey DWI, you can expect to pay up to $1500 in fines, and can be in jail for 2 days. Additionally, New Jersey MVC will seek to suspend your driver’s license for 1 year. If it’s found that you had a high BAC level, .15%+, you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on all vehicles that you drive. You will have to pay for the installation and monthly maintenance of that device, which can be costly. New Jersey has a .08%-.10% BAC “sweetspot” where the penalties can be less severe if you’re just over the legal limit. Having an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney assist in the science behind BAC could help you with challenging your BAC results.
If this is your 2nd New Jersey DWI , there is a mandatory minimum that you spend 2 days in jail, and possibly up to 90 days. You’ll pay anywhere up to $2,000 in fines, depending on the circumstances of your case. The court will also see that you have satisfactorily completed 30 days of community service. Clearly, DWI law ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a DWI attorney immediately to help you avoid the enhanced penalties for multiple offenders.
New Jersey DWI Lawyers
An arrest for DWI in New Jersey does not necessarily equal a New Jersey DWI conviction. New Jersey DWI attorneys defend DWI offenses and drunk driving cases in New Jersey. A good DWI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. New Jersey DWI attorneys will be able to offer you DWI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DWI charges and the hearing with New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
General New Jersey DWI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a New Jersey DWI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DWI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is in more detail and what it can potentially cost you.