If you were arrested for a Nevada DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s) to the extent that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol.
IMPORTANT NOTE: WHAT HAPPENS IN NEVADA DOES NOT STAY IN NEVADA! With Nevada, and specifically Las Vegas and Lake Tahoe, being the vacation destinations that they are – even if you were arrested and released on vacation – your DUI will follow you back to your home state. The Interstate Driver’s Compact states that if any disciplinary action is taken against you in one state that it will be reported to your home state. So while your vacation may be over, the headache of dealing with your Nevada DUI is not. Your license can be suspended or revoked in your home state for your actions in another.
Nevada DUI Penalties
If you are convicted of Nevada DUI charges, you can expect to pay fines up to $1000, plus costs, even for a first offense. You will be subject to various penalties (depending on the circumstances) including at least 2 days and up to 6 months in jail. If you are convicted of your first Nevada DUI, you’ll be required to attend 8 hours of Alcohol Education courses, a DUI assessment if your BAC was in excess of .18%, and the mandatory attendance of a Victim’s Impact Panel. If your BAC was .18% or above, the court will also impose the mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device, at your expense, for a period of 3-6 months. Occasionally, the courts in Nevada may impose community service as well.
Nevada DUI law states that you have 7 days from the date of your arrest to contact the Nevada DMV to request your hearing to contest your license suspension. If you miss the deadline to schedule your Nevada DMV hearing, you may have lost your chance to fight for your right to challenge the suspension. Contact an experienced Nevada DUI attorney as soon as you’re released from custody so that you don’t place your license in jeopardy.
Nevada DUI Lawyers
Nevada DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Nevada. A good Nevada DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with your case and offer DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the administrate case with the Nevada DMV, regarding your license suspension or revocation.
General Information for Nevada DUI
Thousands of people travel from out of state to Las Vegas or Lake Tahoe for conventions, partying, getaways, ski-trips, and fun. Suffice it to say, Nevada has a reputation for fun and copious amounts of adult libations. Unfortunately, some of those engaging in the fun also find themselves in the crosshairs of vigilant Nevada law enforcement.
If you’re arrested and charged with Nevada DUI while on vacation, you most likely will not have to go back to Nevada to take care of your case. Nevada DUI attorneys can conduct phone consultations, provide defense strategies, and appear in court for you in your absence. Contact a reputable Nevada DUI attorney in our database to help you.