If you were arrested for a Nebraska DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Nebraska.
Nebraska DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE 20 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE REVOCATION (ALR) HEARING WITH THE NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED NEBRASKA DUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR ALR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time Nebraska DUI, you can expect to pay a minimum of $400 in fines, and spend a mandatory minimum of 7 days in jail! Jail time may be mitigated if placed on probation. Additional penalties can include the attendance of a alcohol education course and the installation of an ignition interlock device. A DUI in Nebraska can also be characterized as “aggravated” if your BAC is .15% or higher, you were driving 30 m.p.h. or more over the speed limit, or having a passenger under 21 years of age. Mandatory jail time and higher fines will be imposed with those circumstances attached.
If this is your 2nd DUI in Nebraska within 10 years, you’re looking at a minimum of 30 days in jail, a $500 fine, and potentially having your driver’s license revoked for up to a year! Clearly, DUI law in Nebraska ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a Nebraska DUI attorney immediately to help you avoid enhanced penalties.
Nebraska DUI Lawyers
An arrest for DUI in Nebraska does not necessarily equal a Nebraska DUI conviction. DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Nebraska. A good Nebraska DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the ALR hearing with Nebraska DMV.
General Nebraska DUI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Nebraska DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.
DUI arrests in Nebraska can pose a unique jury trial. Nebraska DUI juries are made up of 6 people from your community. For the prosecution to prevail, and find you guilty, they must convince every single juror that you were DUI. If just one juror disagrees with the other 5 jurors, you can have your Nebraska DUI charges dismissed. Consult with an experienced DUI attorney to discuss potential defense strategies and whether going to trial is the right thing to do.