If you were arrested for a Missouri DWI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated from of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving while intoxicated from alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DWI in Missouri.
Missouri DWI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR CHEMICAL TEST RESULTS – YOU HAVE 15 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED MISSOURI DWI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND HELP SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time DWI in Missouri, you can expect to pay a minimum of $750 in fines, and spend a maximum of 6 months in jail! Additional penalties can include 2 years of informal probation and a 30-day “hard” driver’s license suspension. You may also be required to install a ignition interlock device on all of the vehicles that drive for a period determined by the court. You are responsible for the installation and maintenance costs of this device. It’s typically $100 to install and $75 a month to maintain.
If this is your 2nd Missouri DWI within 5 years, you’re looking at a maximum 1 year in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, and potentially having your driver’s license revoked for up to 5 years! Yes, 5 years. However, after a full 2 year revocation, you are eligible to apply for a “hardship license.” Clearly, DWI law in Missouri ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with your Missouri DWI attorney immediately to help you avoid these enhanced penalties.
Missouri DWI Lawyers
An arrest for Missouri DWI does not necessarily equal a Missouri DWI conviction. Missouri DWI attorneys defend DWI offenses and drunk driving cases in Missouri. A good DWI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DWI attorneys will be able to offer you DWI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DWI charges and the administrative hearing with Missouri Department of Revenue.
General Missouri DWI Information
While it may be too late – but if it isn’t or for future reference – under Missouri DWI law, you are allowed 20 minutes to call an attorney about whether to submit to a test, but you must ask to exercise this right. You are also within your rights to have your test conducted by your own independent doctor after you’ve submitted to the officer’s test.
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of DWI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DWI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.