If you were arrested for a Mississippi DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about Mississippi DUI.
Mississippi DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: MISSISSIPPI LAW STATES THAT YOU HAVE 10 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH DMV. After 45 days, your license will be automatically suspended if you do not contest the DMV suspension. It is crucial that your attorney schedules this hearing to avoid further problems with your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of a first-time Mississippi DUI, you can expect to pay fines up to $1,500 and be subject to various penalties (depending on the severity of the circumstances), including 2 days in jail. The DMV will also seek to suspend your license for up to 1 year!
If this is your 2nd Mississippi DUI within 5 years, and you’re found guilty, your driver’s license can be suspended for 2 years. Additionally, you can be sentenced to from 5 days up to 1 year in jail. Sometimes this jail sentence can be forgiven in lieu of completion of community service. Your 2nd Mississippi DUI will most likely result in your fines being far more expensive than your first DUI as well – thousands of dollars.
If you do not prevail at the Mississippi DMV hearing, the consequences can be steep. In order to get your license back after the suspension period, you will need to show completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program. This can up to $150 a month for multiple courses. You will need to show proof of a SR-22 filing. And finally, as if there wasn’t enough fines and fees, you’ll need to pay the $100 license reinstatement fee and show to the DMV that all your court fines and jail time has been satisfied. Speak with an experienced Mississippi DUI attorney immediately to help save your driving privilege and keep you out of jail.
Mississippi DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Mississippi DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Mississippi. A competent DUI attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys can offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the case with Mississippi DMV, regarding your license suspension.
General Mississippi DUI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Mississippi DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Mississppi DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.