If you were arrested for a Massachusetts OUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely was diminished. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have compiled the most important information for you to inform yourself about Massachusetts OUI.
Throughout the country, the acronyms for drunk driving are typically DUI and DWI. Massachusetts uses the acronym OUI, or Operating Under the Influence. DUI, DWI, and OUI all mean the same thing. Simply, if you’re operating any apparatus or piece of equipment that propels you or assists in traveling – while under the influence – you can be charged with an Massachusetts OUI.
Massachusetts OUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR INITIAL BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE 15 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR APPEAL HEARING WITH THE MASSACHUSETTS REGISTRY OF MOTOR VEHICLES. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED MASSACHUSETTS OUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND HELP SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time Massachusetts OUI, you can expect to pay a maximum of $2500 in fines, and can be incarcerated for up to two and a half years! Additionally, The MassDot RMV will seek to suspend your driver’s license for 1 year.
If this is your 2nd Massachusetts OUI, there is a mandatory minimum that you spend 30 days in jail, and possibly up to 60 days. You’ll pay anywhere from $600 all the way up to $10,000 in fines, depending on the circumstances of your case. Massachusetts does not have a “look-back period.” Whether you got your 2nd OUI a month from your first one or 30 years from your first one, it’s still charged as a second offense. Clearly, Massachusetts OUI law ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a Massachusetts OUI attorney immediately to help you avoid the enhanced penalties for multiple offenders.
Massachusetts OUI Lawyers
An arrest for Massachusetts OUI does not necessarily equal a Massachusetts OUI conviction. Massachusetts OUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Massachusetts. A good Massachusetts OUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. Massachusetts OUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the hearing with Massachusetts RMV.
General Massachusetts OUI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Massachusetts OUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Massachusetts OUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is in more detail and what it can potentially cost you.