If you were arrested for a Maryland DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Maryland.
Maryland DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE ONLY 10 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE MARYLAND MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED MARYLAND DUI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
In Maryland, you can be charged with a DWI (Driving While Impaired) if your BAC is found to be .o7% or lower. Whether you’re being charged with a DWI or a Maryland DUI for a BAC in excess of .08%, protect your rights and speak with a qualified and experienced Maryland DUI attorney to help you.
If you are convicted of a first-time Maryland DUI, you can expect to pay a maximum of $1000 in fines, and spend up to 1 year in jail! Additional penalties can include the attendance of a alcohol education course and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
If this is your 2nd Maryland DUI within 10 years, you’re looking at a maximum of 2 years in jail, a $2000 fine, and potentially having your driver’s license revoked for up to 2 years! On top of that, you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on all the vehicles that you regularly drive. Clearly, Maryland DUI law ups the stakes for repeat offenders. Speak with a DUI attorney immediately to help you avoid the enhanced penalties.
Maryland DUI Lawyers
An arrest for DUI in Maryland does not necessarily equal a DUI conviction. DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Maryland. A good DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. Maryland DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the administrative hearing with Maryland MVA.
General Maryland DUI Information
Do Not Fall Asleep In Your Car If You’ve Been Drinking!
You can be charged with a DUI in Maryland for driving, operating, or being in physical control of a vehicle. The argument can be made against you that you were in physical control of the vehicle and that you could have driven even if you were found sleeping intoxicated in the back seat of the car.
Maryland DUI SR-22 Filing
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Maryland DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.