If you were arrested for a Louisiana DWI, driving while intoxicated, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DWI in Louisiana.
Louisiana DWI Penalties
IMPORTANT: IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING YOUR ARREST – REGARDLESS OF THE CONTENT OF THE ARRESTING OFFICER’S REPORT AND YOUR BAC RESULTS – YOU HAVE ONLY 15 DAYS TO REQUEST YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITH THE LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS. CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED LOUISIANA DWI ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU NAVIGATE YOUR HEARING AND SAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
If you are convicted of a first-time DWI in Louisiana, you can expect to pay a maximum of $1000 in fines, and spend up to 6 months in jail! Additional penalties can include the attendance of a alcohol education course and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Louisiana DWI laws have what’s called a “safe harbor” for specific blood alcohol contents. You are presumed to be not DWI if you’re below a .05% BAC. If your results are between .05% and .08% there’s no presumption of alcohol impairment. If your BAC is .08% or higher, then there is a presumption that you are impaired.
Louisiana DWI Lawyers
An arrest for DWI in Louisiana does not necessarily equal a DWI conviction. Louisiana DWI attorneys defend DWI offenses and drunk driving cases in Louisiana. A good DWI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DWI attorneys will be able to offer you DWI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DWI charges and the administrative hearing with Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections.
General Louisiana DWI Information
Louisiana DWI Insurance
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a DWI in Louisiana, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Louisiana DWI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.