If you were arrested for a Kentucky DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Kentucky.
Kentucky DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: THE KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION WILL MAIL YOU A NOTICE WITHIN A WEEK OF YOUR ARREST NOTIFYING YOU OF YOUR IMPENDING DRIVER’S LICENSE SUSPENSION AND TO DETERMINE WHEN YOUR HEARING WILL OCCUR.
If you are convicted of a first-time Kentucky DUI, you can expect to pay fines up to $500 and be subject to various other penalties (depending on the severity of the circumstances), including a minimum 48-hour jail sentence. However, your fines and jail time can be set aside in lieu of community service. An additional penalty the court may impose on you can include the completion of a alcohol treatment program for 90 days. Your driver’s license will be suspended at least 30 days.
If this is your 2nd DUI in Kentucky and you’re found guilty, your driver’s license can be suspended for up to 18 months! Additionally, you can be sentenced to between 7 days and 6 months in jail and your vehicle may be impounded for 1 year.
Kentucky DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Kentucky DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Kentucky. A good Kentucky DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges, including your license suspension or revocation.
Kentucky DUI On A Horse
In Kentucky, you can be arrested and prosecuted for being under the influence of alcohol on a horse. Yes, you read that correctly. A recently enacted Kentucky law (KRS 189.520) prohibits the operation of a “non-motorized vehicle” while under the influence. This means that you can also get a Kentucky DUI on a bicycle, a skateboard, or a wheelchair. While this law sounds strange – being charged with a Kentucky DUI on any kind of vehicle is serious – your Kentucky DUI attorney will be able to cut through the confusion and offer you defense strategies.