If you were arrested for a Wisconsin OWI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that you were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. In Wisconsin, driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered operating with a prohibited alcohol concentration (PAC). Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about Wisconsin OWI.
Wisconsin OWI Penalties
IMPORTANT: WISCONSIN LAW STATES THAT YOU HAVE 10 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH THE WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION. Otherwise, your license will automatically be suspended.
If you are convicted of a first-time Wisconsin OWI, you can expect to pay fines into the thousands of dollars. Additional penalties can include a 6-9 month driver’s license suspension, a DUI school, and an alcohol abuse assessment. If your blood alcohol content exceeded .15%, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device. If there are extenuating circumstances surrounding your arrest, jail time may be imposed.
If this is your 2nd Wisconsin OWI arrest and you’re found guilty, your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 1 year. Additionally, you can be sentenced anywhere from to 5 days to 6 months in jail. Two-time offenders will be required to carry SR-22 insurance and may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
Wisconsin OWI Lawyers
A OWI arrest is not a OWI conviction. Wisconsin OWI attorneys defend OWI offenses and drunk driving cases in Indiana. A good Wisconsin OWI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. OWI attorneys will be able to offer you OWI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal OWI charges and the case with Wisconsin DOT.
General Wisconsin OWI Information
It’s important to note that, in Wisconsin, law enforcement does not actually have to see a person driving to make an OWI arrest. If the ignition is turned on, or the vehicle is running but remains in park, that means that you are operating a vehicle. So if you’re sitting in your car, with the heater or radio on, and you’ve been drinking, and your BAC is in excess of .08% – you can be arrested for Wisconsin OWI.