If you were arrested for a Montana DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below, we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Montana.
Montana DUI Penalties
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in Montana, you can expect to pay fines up to $1,000 and be subject to various other penalties (depending on the severity of the circumstances), including a maximum 6 month jail sentence. Additional penalties the court may impose on you can include completion of a chemical dependency course and the mandatory installation of a ignition interlock device.
If this is your 2nd Montana DUI and you’re found guilty, your driver’s license can be suspended for a minimum of 1 year. Additionally, you can be sentenced to between 7 days and 6 months in jail and your vehicle may be seized and subject to forfeiture.
Montana DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Montana DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Montana. A good Montana DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the case with Montana DMV, regarding your license suspension or revocation.
General Montana DUI Information
Montana is a state that takes child endangerment while drunk driving very seriously. As such, their laws and penalties are pretty steep. If you’ve been arrested with a child under the age of 16 in the car while you were DUI, the penalties outlined above are doubled.
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of a Montana DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Montana DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.