If you were arrested for an Illinois DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s). The law enforcement officer believed that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol. Below we have outlined the most important information for you to inform yourself about DUI in Illinois.
Illinois DUI Penalties
IMPORTANT: ILLINOIS LAW STATES THAT YOU HAVE 10 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH DMV. After 45 days, your license will be automatically suspended if you do not contest the DMV susension. It is crucial that your attorney schedules this hearing to avoid further problems with your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of a first-time Illinois DUI, you can expect to pay fines up to $2,500 and be subject to various penalties (depending on the severity of the circumstances), including a maximum 1 year jail sentence. Drivers with a BAC in excess of 0.16% can expect much harsher penalties than if you had a lower BAC – including an additional $500 fine, up to a year and a half in jail, perform 100 hours of community service, and in some instances, install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
If this is your 2nd Illinois DUI and you’re found guilty, your driver’s license can be suspended for a minimum of 5 years. Additionally, you can be sentenced to 5 days in jail. Sometimes this jail sentence can be forgiven in lieu of 240 hours of community service. Your 2nd DUI in Illinois will most likely result in your fines being far more expensive than your first DUI.
Illinois DUI Lawyers
A DUI arrest is not a DUI conviction. Illinois DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Illinois. A good Illinois DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases. DUI attorneys will be able to offer you DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the case with Illinois DMV, regarding your license suspension or revocation.
General Illinois DUI Information
Another penalty that is often overlooked is your driver’s insurance. If you’re convicted of an Illinois DUI, you will have to get what is called an SR-22 insurance. Your Illinois DUI attorney can discuss what SR-22 is and what it will potentially cost you.