If you were arrested in Alaska for a DUI, an officer believed that you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drug(s) to the extent that your motor skills, mental faculties and reaction times were so impaired that you were unable to operate that motor vehicle safely. Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered per se, or automatically, driving under the influence of alcohol.
When you are arrested for a Alaska DUI, two separate cases start. There is the criminal court case, which determines fines, jail time, community service, and other similar items. There is also the administrative side with the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, which determines your licensing issues and can determine your DUI school.
IMPORTANT: ALASKA LAW STATES THAT YOU HAVE 7 DAYS FROM YOUR ARREST FOR YOUR ATTORNEY TO REQUEST A DRIVER’S LICENSE HEARING WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. It is crucial that you or your attorney schedules this hearing to avoid further problems with your driver’s license.
DUI PENALTIES IN ALASKA
If you are convicted of DUI charges in Alaska, you can expect to pay substantial fines and be subject to various penalties, depending on the circumstances. The Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles estimates that an average cost of a first DUI in Alaska is $24,265. If you are convicted of your first Alaska DUI, your fines can run up into the thousands of dollars and you face a minimum 3 day jail visit. For an Alaska DUI, it doesn’t matter if it’s your first or third DUI, you are required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle if convicted.
Alaska DUI laws are distinct from other states in that their penalties for repeat offenders are harsh. For a second Alaska DUI conviction, expect a minimum one-year license suspension, 20-day jail sentence, and $3,000 fine.
ALASKA DUI LAWYER
Alaska DUI attorneys defend DUI offenses and drunk driving cases in Alaska. A good DUI attorney or criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you with the two separate cases that you’re facing and offer DUI defense strategies. They will be able to handle both the criminal DUI charges and the administrate case with DMV regarding a license suspension or revocation.
ALASKA DUI SCHOOL
If you are convicted of Alaska DUI, in addition to fines and penalties, you will also be required to complete DUI school in order to restore your license by the Alaska DMV. In Alaska, a first time conviction will result in your license being suspended for 90 days. Alaska DUI education courses can also be imposed by the court. Alaska DUI school classroom instruction aims to deter those convicted of DUI to not become repeat offenders through the use of interactive educational techniques.